To qualify for the Tennessee insurance license exam, you must complete a pre-licensing insurance course that is certified by the Tennessee Department of Commerce and Insurance. Upon passing the pre-licensing course final exam, you will be awarded a Certificate of Course Completion.
Our Tennessee pre-licensing insurance courses cover the various insurance concepts, definitions, insurance laws and agent regulations listed on the Tennessee Examination Content Outline. Courses are presented in a clear and concise format and include instructional videos, interactive illustrations, practice exams, and student support.
National Online Insurance School is certified by the Tennessee Department of Commerce and Insurance to offer the following courses:
|Pre-Licensing Course||Course Credit Hours|
|Life, Accident & Health||40|
|Accident & Health||20|
Upon completing your pre-licensing insurance course, you must register with Pearson Vue to take your state insurance exam. Exam reservations can be made online at the Pearson Vue website or over the phone at (800) 274-4957.
Insurance Exam Fee: $59.00
|License Exam||Exam Time||Scored Questions||Pre-Test Questions||Total Questions|
|Life||1 hour 45 mins||68||14||82|
|Accident & Health||1 hour 45 mins||68||14||82|
Review our Insurance License Exam Tips to learn more about the state exam format and the types of questions asked on the exam, as well as additional test-taking tips to help you prepare for your exam day.
The Tennessee Department of Commerce and Insurance requires that an applicant who fails his or her state exam must wait 30 days before they are eligible to reschedule. If an applicant has not passed the exam within 6 months of their first attempt, he or she is required to retake a pre-licensing course.
You must schedule an appointment to submit electronic fingerprints to complete a background check. Fingerprints are required by the Tennessee Department of Commerce and Insurance to ensure that applicants do not have a disqualifying criminal or social services background that would prevent them from being a licensed insurance agent.
Electronic Fingerprints Fee: $42.00
You can apply for an insurance license through the Vertafore website. Click the button below and follow the steps to complete your application:
Application Fee: $50.00