New Mexico License Requirements

How to get a New Mexico insurance license

At National Online Insurance School, our goal is to guide you through the pre-licensing process. In addition to completing your pre-licensing training, we have simplified the steps to attaining your New Mexico insurance license.

Step 1: Prepare with an New Mexico Pre-Licensing Insurance Course

Our New Mexico pre-licensing insurance courses cover the various insurance concepts, definitions, insurance laws and agent regulations listed on the New Mexico Examination Content Outline. Courses are presented in a clear and concise format and include instructional videos, interactive illustrations, practice exams, and student support.

National Online Insurance School provides the following pre-licensing insurance courses in New Mexico:

Pre-Licensing Course
Life, Accident & Health
Accident & Health

Step 2: Pass the New Mexico Insurance License Exam

Once you are prepared to sit for your state exam, you must register with Prometric to take your state insurance exam. Exam reservations can be made online at the Prometric website or over the phone at (800) 876-4430.

Expected cost


About the state exam

  • A current form of identification with a photo (driver license, passport, etc.) that exactly matches the name on the exam registration at the testing center.
  • Exam times are typically available in the morning and afternoon on weekdays and certain weekends, at various locations throughout the state
  • You should arrive 30 minutes before your scheduled appointment to allow time for check-in procedures. If you arrive late you will not be allowed to take your exam and will forfeit your exam fee.
  • Applicants with disabilities should make special arrangements prior to registering for the state exam by contacting the testing administrator at (800) 226-9406
  • Passing score is 70%
License Exam Exam Time Scored Questions Pre-Test Questions Total Questions
18-27 Life, Accident and Health Insurance 2 hrs 30 mins 150 5 155
18-25 Life Insurance 2 hrs 100 5 105
18-26 Accident and Health Insurance 2 hrs 100 5 105

Review our Insurance License Exam Tips to learn more about the state exam format and the types of questions asked on the exam, as well as additional test-taking tips to help you prepare for your exam day.

The New Mexico Public Regulation Commission limits individuals to 4 exam attempts for the same exam type during a 12 month period. After the 4th unsuccessful attempt, the individual will be placed into a 6 month waiting period and will not be able to retake the exam until the waiting period is over.

Step 3: Submit Electronic Fingerprints

You must schedule an appointment to submit electronic fingerprints to complete a background check. Fingerprints are required by the Office of the Superintendent of Insurance to ensure that applicants do not have a disqualifying criminal or social services background that would prevent them from being a licensed insurance agent.

Resident candidates taking an insurance exam for the first time must be fingerprinted; however, if you have already submitted electronic fingerprints for a previous insurance exam and continue to hold that active license, you may not be required to submit a new set of fingerprints.

Expected cost

Electronic Fingerprints Fee: $59.00

Step 3: Complete an Insurance License Application

You can apply for an insurance license through the Vertafore website. Click the button below and follow the steps to complete your application:

  1. Click 'Apply for a license' from the menu on the left
  2. Click the New Insurance License button within the 'New Insurance Licenses' section
  3. Choose 'Resident,' then choose 'Individual,' and click the Continue button
  4. Enter your email address
  5. Enter your information and choose the state you wish to apply for a license, then click continue
  6. Select 'Resident Agent' as your license type and continue
  7. Select the types of license(s) you wish to apply for and continue
  8. Enter all requested information and submit payment

License qualifications

  • Must be at least 18 years of age
  • A resident of the state of New Mexico
  • Pass the state insurance exam for the lines of authority for which you are applying
  • Must not have committed any act that is a ground for denial, suspension, or revocation of license

Expected cost

Application Fee: $30.00

License Fee: $30.00

Additional Resources

Review the Prometric Licensing Information Handbook for additional details regarding the pre-licensing process.

New Mexico Office of the Superintendent of Insurance

  • 1120 Paseo De Peralta
    Santa Fe, NM 87504
  • (505) 827-4601
  • Website

Exam Administrator

Electronic Fingerprints

Insurance Application

Exam ready in 1 to 2 weeks

However, we provide a 3-month enrollment period so that you can study at your own pace and at a time convenient to you.

View Courses

Multiple Device Access

© 2008-2023 National Online Insurance School
Privacy Policy   |   Terms of Service   |   Site Map

LinkedIn   facebook