California Insurance License Requirements

As a state-certified life and health insurance education provider, our goal is to guide you through the pre-licensing process. In addition to completing your pre-licensing training, we have simplified the steps to attaining your California insurance license.
Our California Pre-Licensing Education Provider ID: 275978

How to get a California Insurance License


Step 1

Complete a California Pre-Licensing Insurance Course

To qualify for the California insurance license exam, you must complete a pre-licensing insurance course that is certified by the California Department of Insurance (CDI). Upon passing the pre-licensing course final exam, you will be awarded a Certificate of Course Completion.

Our California pre-licensing insurance courses cover the various insurance concepts, definitions, insurance laws and agent regulations listed on the California Pre-Licensing Educational and Examination Objectives. Courses are presented in a clear and concise format and include instructional videos, interactive illustrations, practice exams, and student support.

National Online Insurance School is certified by the California Department of Insurance to offer the following courses below. Each course includes the required 12 hours of Ethics and California Insurance Code.

Pre-Licensing Course Course Credit Hours
Life, Accident & Health 52
Life 32
Accident & Health 32

Important
Your Certificate of Course Completion is valid for a period of 3 years from the date you pass your pre-licensing course final exam.


Step 2

Pass the California Insurance License Exam

Upon successfully completing your pre-licensing insurance course, you must register with PSI Services to take your state insurance exam. Exam reservations can be made online at the PSI website by following the steps below and clicking the 'Register for the State Exam' button, or over the phone at (800) 733-9267.

  1. Click on the link that reads 'Government/State Licensing Agencies' on the left-side of the PSI website
  2. Choose California from the 'Select Jurisdiction' drop down menu and wait for a second drop down menu to appear
  3. Choose CA Department of Insurance from the 'Select Account' drop down menu
  4. Click on your exam from within the 'Classification' box
  5. Click the button that reads 'Sign In or Create An Account' and follow the instructions provided

Expected cost

$83.00 when testing at a California Department of Insurance (CDI) testing center

$116.00 when testing at a PSI testing center

About the state exam

  • You are required to provide a current form of identification with a photo (driver license, passport, etc.) that exactly matches the name on the exam registration at the testing center. You are not required to present your Certificate of Course Completion.
  • Exam times are typically available in the morning, afternoon and early evening on weekdays at various locations throughout the state
  • You should arrive 30 minutes before your scheduled appointment to allow time for check-in procedures. If you arrive late you will not be allowed to take your exam and will forfeit your exam fee.
  • Applicants with disabilities should make special arrangements prior to registering for the state exam by contacting the testing administrator at (800) 733-9267
  • Passing score is 60%
License Exam Exam Time Scored Questions Pre-Test Questions Total Questions
Life, Accident & Health 3 hrs 15 mins 150 10 160
Life 1 hr 45 mins 75 5 80
Accident & Health 1 hr 45 mins 75 5 80

Review our Insurance License Exam Tips to learn more about the state exam format and the types of questions asked on the exam, as well as additional test-taking tips to help you prepare for your exam day.

CDI test center locations

  • Los Angeles
  • 300 S. Spring St, Suite 1000
    Los Angeles, CA 90013
  • Sacramento
  • Department of Insurance
    320 Capitol Mall
    Sacramento, CA 95814

PSI test center locations

  • Anaheim
  • 2301 W. Lincoln Ave, Suite 252
    Anaheim, CA 92801
  • Atascadero
  • 7305 Morro Rd, Suite 201A
    Atascadero, CA 93422
  • Bakersfield
  • 5405 Stockdale Hwy, Suite 206
    Bakersfield, CA 93309
  • Burbank
  • 2950 N. Hollywood Way, Suite 150
    Burbank, CA 91505
  • Carson
  • 17420 S. Avalon Blvd, Suite 205
    Carson, CA 90746
  • Diamond Bar
  • 21660 E. Copley Dr, Suite 260
    Diamond Bar, CA 91765
  • El Monte
  • 4399 Santa Anita Ave, Suite 110
    El Monte, CA 91731
  • Fresno
  • 351 E. Barstow, Suite 101
    Fresno, CA 93710
  • Wayward
  • 24301 Southland Dr, Suite B-1
    Wayward, CA 94545
  • Laguna Hills
  • 23297 S. Pointe Dr, Suite 140
    Laguna Hills, CA 92653
  • Lawndale
  • 15901 Hawthorne Blvd
    Lawndale, CA 90260
  • Redding
  • 2861 Churn Creek, Unit C
    Redding, CA 96002
  • Riverside
  • 7888 Mission Grove Pkwy S., Suite 130
    Riverside, CA 92508
  • Sacramento
  • 9719 Lincoln Village Dr, Bld 100, Suite 100
    Sacramento, CA 95827
  • San Diego
  • 5440 Morehouse Dr, Suite 2300
    San Diego, CA 92121
  • San Francisco
  • 150 Executive Park Blvd, Suite 1100
    San Francisco, CA 94134
  • Santa Rosa
  • 160 Wikiup Dr, Suite 105
    Santa Rosa, CA 95403
  • Santa Clara
  • 2936 Scott Blvd
    Santa Clara, CA 95054
  • Ventura
  • 4245 Market St, Suite 208
    Ventura, CA 93003
  • Visalia
  • 3400 W. Mineral King Ave, Suite D
    Visalia, CA 93291
  • Walnut Creek
  • 175 Lennon Lane, Suite 203
    Walnut Creek, CA 94598
 

Step 3

Submit Electronic Fingerprints

Fingerprints are required by the California Department of Insurance to ensure that applicants do not have a disqualifying criminal or social services background that would prevent them from being a licensed insurance agent. You can schedule an appointment to submit electronic fingerprints on the day of your exam at a PSI testing site or CDI testing site. If you would prefer to have your fingerprint impressions taken before the day of your exam, you may schedule it at a CDI testing site.

You should bring a completed Live Scan Request, form LIC 442-39A with you on the day of your fingerprint impressions.

Resident candidates taking an insurance exam for the first time must be fingerprinted; however, if you have already submitted electronic fingerprints within the past 12 months for a previous insurance exam, you may not be required to submit a new set of fingerprints. You can contact the California Department of Insurance to determine if a new set of fingerprints is required.

Expected cost

$68.95 at a PSI testing site

$59.00 at a CDI testing site

Important
If you have any background issues regarding law enforcement records that may prevent you from obtaining your insurance license, visit the California Department of Insurance for more information.


Step 4

Complete an Insurance License Application

Once you have passed your state insurance exam you can apply for your insurance license through the CDI website. Please keep in mind that you will only be able to electronically apply for your license once you have passed your state insurance exam and the testing vendor has reported your successful completion to the Department of Insurance. Click the button below and follow the steps to complete your application.

License qualifications

  • Must be at least 18 years of age
  • A resident of the state of California
  • Complete the required pre-licensing course hours for the lines of authority for which you are applying
  • Pass the state insurance exam for the lines of authority for which you are applying
  • Must not have committed any act that is a ground for denial, suspension, or revocation of license.

Expected cost

Application Fee: $170.00

Important
The Department typically requires 4 weeks to process and approve your insurance license, once they have received the required documentation. Upon approval, you will receive an email that includes a link to the Department's website that will allow you to view and print your insurance license. You are required to complete your application and fingerprints, and receive your insurance license from the Department of Insurance within 12 months of passing your state insurance exam.

Additional Resources

Review the PSI Licensing Information Bulletin for additional details regarding the pre-licensing process.

California Department of Insurance

  • 320 Capitol Mall
    Sacramento, CA 95814
  • (800) 967-9331
  • Website

Exam Administrator & Electronic Fingerprints

  • PSI Services
  • (800) 733-9267
  • Website

Electronic Fingerprints

Insurance Application

  • California Department of Insurance
  • (800) 967-9331
  • Website

Site Map   |   Terms of Service   |   Privacy Policy Copyright © 2008- National Online Insurance School

© 2008- National Online Insurance School

Site Map   |   Terms of Service   |   Privacy Policy