South Carolina Insurance Exam

We are committed to your success! As a full-service insurance licensing provider, our goal is to guide you through the insurance application process. At National Online Insurance School, we have simplified the licensing process down to a few basic steps to make getting your South Carolina insurance license even easier.

Jump to a specific section.

South Carolina Insurance Exam Qualifications

In order to qualify to sit for your South Carolina Life insurance exam, Accident & Health insurance exam, or Life, Accident & Health insurance exam, the following must occur:

  • Be at least 18 years of age
  • Be a resident of the state of South Carolina
  • If you are not a citizen of the United States, you must provide proof of eligibility to work in the U.S.
  • Must not have committed any act that is a ground for denial of license

Basic Steps to Obtain a South Carolina Insurance License

  1. Prepare for your state exam with an insurance course from a South Carolina insurance school for the Life or Accident & Health insurance license, or a course for the Life, Accident & Health insurance license, such as those offered by National Online Insurance School.
  2. Complete an insurance license application online at the South Carolina Department of Insurance. Once you have read the information, click on the 'I Agree' button at the bottom of the page. Follow the instructions on the subsequent pages to complete the application.
  3. Complete a South Carolina Law Enforcement Division (SLED) report. The SLED report must be no more than 90 days old when it is submitted to the South Carolina Department of Insurance.
  4. Registration for your state insurance exam can be completed online at PSI. First time users must create an account, which will allow you to schedule your exam location, date and time. If you prefer to schedule your exam by phone, you may call PSI toll-free at 1-800-733-9267.
  • Note: If you had previously been convicted of a crime, whether a felony or misdemeanor, you are required to obtain approval from the South Carolina Department of Insurance prior to scheduling your state exam. This means completing an application for licensure and submitting a SLED report. The Department will notify you once you are approved to schedule your state exam.
Expected Licensing Costs:
$45 Exam Fee - This is the cost to register for your state exam
$25 License Fee

Helpful Hints to Licensure

South Carolina Department of Insurance

Site Map   |   Terms of Service   |   Privacy Policy Copyright © 2008- National Online Insurance School

© 2008- National Online Insurance School

Site Map   |   Terms of Service   |   Privacy Policy