To qualify for the North Carolina insurance license exam, you must complete a pre-licensing insurance course that is certified by the North Carolina Department of Insurance. Upon passing the pre-licensing course final exam, you will be awarded an Exam Admission Ticket.
Our North Carolina pre-licensing insurance courses cover the various insurance concepts, definitions, insurance laws and agent regulations listed on the North Carolina Examination Content Outline. Courses are presented in a clear and concise format and include instructional videos, interactive illustrations, practice exams, and student support.
National Online Insurance School is certified by the North Carolina Department of Insurance to offer the following courses:
|Pre-Licensing Course||Course Credit Hours|
|Life, Accident & Health or Sickness||40|
|Accident & Health or Sickness||20|
You can apply for an insurance license through the Vertafore website. Click the button below and follow the steps to complete your application:
Application Fee: $44 base fee plus $50 for each line of authority
Upon completing your application you will receive an email with your National Producer Number (NPN) from Pearson Vue. You will need to obtain your NPN before you can register and schedule your state exam in the next step.
Upon completing your pre-licensing insurance course, you must register with Pearson Vue to take your state insurance exam. Exam reservations can be made online at the Pearson Vue website or over the phone at (866) 265-6329.
Insurance Exam Fee: $45.00 per line of authority
|License Exam||Exam Time||Scored Questions||Pre-Test Questions||Total Questions|
|Life||1 hour 15 mins||55||5||60|
|Accident & Health or Sickness||1 hour 15 mins||55||5||60|
Review our Insurance License Exam Tips to learn more about the state exam format and the types of questions asked on the exam, as well as additional test-taking tips to help you prepare for your exam day.
You must pass the state licensing exam within 90 days from the date of course completion, or a maximum of 5 exam attempts, whichever occurs first. If you cannot pass the exam within the required time or the maximum number of attempts, you must retake a state-approved pre-licensing course to be eligible to retake the state licensing exam.
You must schedule an appointment to submit electronic fingerprints to complete a background check. Fingerprints are required by the North Carolina Department of Insurance to ensure that applicants do not have a disqualifying criminal or social services background that would prevent them from being a licensed insurance agent.
Electronic Fingerprints Fee: Approximately $38.00
You are required to submit electronic fingerprints within 30 days of submitting your insurance license application. You will receive an email with instructions on how to complete this requirement from the National Insurance Producer Registry (NIPR) only after submitting your insurance license application.