Our Alaska pre-licensing insurance courses cover the various insurance concepts, definitions, insurance laws and agent regulations listed on the Alaska Examination Content Outline. Courses are presented in a clear and concise format and include instructional videos, interactive illustrations, practice exams, and student support.
National Online Insurance School provides the following pre-licensing insurance courses in Alaska:
|Life, Accident & Health|
|Accident & Health|
Once you are prepared to sit for your state exam, you must register to take it with Pearson Vue, the state's testing administrator. Registration must occur at least 24 hours in advance of the date in which you intend to sit for your state exam. Exam reservations can be made online at the Pearson Vue website or over the phone at (800) 274-5993.
Insurance Exam Fee: $89.00
|License Exam||Exam Time||Scored Questions||Pre-Test Questions||Total Questions|
|Life||2 hrs 15 mins||90||20||110|
|Accident & Health||2 hrs 15 mins||90||20||110|
Review our Insurance License Exam Tips to learn more about the state exam format and the types of questions asked on the exam (including pre-test questions), as well as additional test-taking tips to help you prepare for your exam day.
Once you have registered for your state exam you must schedule an appointment to submit electronic fingerprints to complete a background check. Fingerprints are required by the Department of Insurance to ensure that applicants do not have a disqualifying criminal or social services background that would prevent them from being a licensed insurance agent. Review the Pearson Vue Fingerprint FAQs for additional details.
Resident candidates taking an insurance exam for the first time must be fingerprinted; however, if you have already submitted electronic fingerprints within the past 12 months for a previous insurance exam, you may not be required to submit a new set of fingerprints. Contact your Department of Insurance to determine if a new set of fingerprints is required.
Electronic Fingerprints Fee: $62.00 - includes the cost of scanning fingerprints ($15.00) and processing by the Department of Insurance ($47.00)
If you are taking your state exam at a test center outside of Anchorage you must make a reservation with your local Department of Public Safety to complete your fingerprints. You must submit the fingerprint card and processing fee when applying for your insurance license application.
You can apply for an insurance license through the Vertafore website. Click the button below and follow the steps to complete your application:
Application Fee: $75.00
Once your application has been approved by the Department of Insurance, you may print your Alaska insurance license.
You must submit all required paperwork within 4 months of applying for your insurance license or the application will be considered withdrawn by the Department of Insurance.