To qualify for the Alabama insurance license exam, you must complete a pre-licensing insurance course that is certified by the Alabama Department of Insurance. Upon passing the pre-licensing course final exam, you will be awarded a Certificate of Course Completion.
Our Alabama pre-licensing insurance courses cover the various insurance concepts, definitions, insurance laws and agent regulations listed on the Alabama Examination Content Outline. Courses are presented in a clear and concise format and include instructional videos, interactive illustrations, practice exams and student support.
National Online Insurance School is certified by the Alabama Department of Insurance to offer the following courses:
|Pre-Licensing Course||Course Credit Hours|
|Life & Health||40|
Your Certificate of Course Completion is valid for a period of 12 months from the date you pass your pre-licensing course final exam.
Upon successfully completing your pre-licensing insurance course, you must register with the University of Alabama to take your state insurance exam. Registration must occur at least 7 days in advance of the date in which you intend to sit for your state exam. Exam reservations can be made online at the University's website or over the phone at (205) 348-3000.
Insurance Exam Fee: $50.00 for single-line exam (Life only or Health only)
Insurance Exam Fee: $75.00 for combined exam (Life and Health)
|License Exam||Exam Time||Scored Questions|
|Life & Health||3 hrs||150|
|Life||2 hrs 30 mins||125|
Review our Insurance License Exam Tips to learn more about the state exam format and the types of questions asked on the exam, as well as additional test-taking tips to help you prepare for your exam day.
The certificate that you will receive from the testing administrator upon passing the state exam is valid for 12 months.
Required Waiting Periods for Failed Exams:
After passing your state insurance exam, before applying for your insurance license, you must submit electronic fingerprints to complete a background check. Fingerprints are required by the Department of Insurance to ensure that applicants do not have a disqualifying criminal or social services background that would prevent them from being a licensed insurance agent.
Electronic Fingerprints Fee: $49.75
Electronic fingerprints will remain active for only 30 days after they are submitted. You must pass your state exam and apply for your insurance license within this period, or you will have to resubmit fingerprints and pay the required fee. The Alabama Department of Insurance will only accept fingerprints electronically processed through 3M Cogent.
Once you have passed your state insurance exam, you can apply for your insurance agent license through the Vertafore website. Please keep in mind that you will only be able to electronically apply for your license once you have passed your state insurance exam and the testing vendor has reported your successful completion to the Department of Insurance. Click the button below and follow the steps to complete your application:
For more information, view an illustrated step-by-step guide on how to apply for an insurance license.
Application Fee: $60.00
Upon submitting your application, you are required to provide proof of citizenship by completing an online form through the website of the Alabama Department of Insurance. This form must be submitted to the Department of Insurance before they will issue your insurance license.
If proof of citizenship documentation is not received within 10 days after submitting your insurance license application, your application will be declined and the Department of Insurance will not refund your application fee.