To qualify for the Pennsylvania insurance license exam you must successfully complete a pre-licensing insurance course that is certified by the Pennsylvania Insurance Department. Upon passing the pre-licensing course final exam you will be awarded a Certificate of Course Completion.
Our Pennsylvania pre-licensing insurance courses cover the various insurance concepts, definitions, insurance laws and agent regulations listed on the Pennsylvania Examination Content Outlines. Courses are presented in a clear and concise format, and include instructional videos, interactive illustrations, practice exams and student support.
National Online Insurance School is certified by the Pennsylvania Insurance Department to offer the following courses below.
|Pre-Licensing Course||Course Credit Hours|
|Life, Accident & Health||24|
|Accident & Health||24|
Your Certificate of Course Completion is valid for a period of 12 months from the date you pass your pre-licensing course final exam.
Upon successfully completing your pre-licensing insurance course, you must register with PSI Services to take your state insurance exam. Exam reservations can be made online at the PSI website by following the steps below and clicking the 'Register for the State Exam' button, or over the phone at (800) 733-9267.
$40.00 for the 16-01 Life OR 16-02 Accident & Health Exam Fee
$50.00 for the 16-03 Life, Accident & Health Exam Fee
|License Exam||Exam Time||Scored Questions||Pre-test Questions||Total Questions|
|16-03 Life, Accident & Health||2 hrs 50 mins||150||10||160|
|16-01 Life||2 hrs||100||5||105|
|16-02 Accident & Health||2 hrs||100||5||105|
Review our Insurance License Exam Tips to learn more about the state exam format and the types of questions asked on the exam, as well as additional test taking tips to help you prepare for your exam day.
Once you have passed your state insurance exam you can apply for your insurance license through the Vertafore website using the kiosk at the PSI testing center. During your application you will also register and pay to have your fingerprints electronically scanned to complete a background check by the Department of Insurance, as detailed in the next step below.
Application Fee: $55.00
You must submit electronic fingerprints to complete a background check. Fingerprints are required by the Pennsylvania Insurance Department to ensure that applicants do not have a disqualifying criminal or social services background that would prevent them from being a licensed insurance agent.
Instructions for completing electronic fingerprints will be provided to you at the PSI testing center. As mentioned above, the fee for electronic fingerprints will be made at the time you complete your insurance application.
Electronic Fingerprints Fee: $42.75
Once your application has been approved by the Department of Insurance, you may print your Pennsylvania insurance license.