To qualify for the Florida insurance license exam, you must complete a pre-licensing insurance course that is certified by the Florida Department of Financial Services. Upon passing the pre-licensing course final exam, you will be awarded a Certificate of Course Completion.
Our Florida pre-licensing insurance courses cover the various insurance concepts, definitions, insurance laws and agent regulations listed on the Florida Examination Content Outline. Courses are presented in a clear and concise format and include instructional videos, interactive illustrations, practice exams, and student support.
National Online Insurance School is certified by the Florida Department of Financial Services to offer the following courses:
|Pre-Licensing Course||Course Credit Hours|
|2-15 Life, Health & Variable Annuity||60|
|2-14 Life & Variable Annuity||40|
Your Certificate of Course Completion is valid for a period of 48 months from the date you pass your pre-licensing course final exam.
Upon successfully completing your pre-licensing insurance course, you must register with Pearson Vue to take your state insurance exam. Exam reservations can be made online at the Pearson Vue website or over the phone at (888) 274-2020.
Insurance Exam Fee: $42.00
|License Exam||Exam Time||Scored Questions||Pre-Test Questions||Total Questions|
|2-15 Life, Health & Variable Annuity||2 hrs 45 mins||150||15||165|
|2-14 Life & Variable Annuity||2 hrs||85||15||100|
|2-40 Health||2 hrs||85||15||100|
Review our Insurance License Exam Tips to learn more about the state exam format and the types of questions asked on the exam, as well as additional test-taking tips to help you prepare for your exam day.
The Florida Department of Financial Services limits individuals to 5 exam attempts for the same exam type during a 12 month period. Individuals who have reached the 5 exam limit are not permitted to sit for their next exam attempt until the 12 month time window only contains 4 exams. The certificate that you will receive from the testing administrator upon passing the state exam is valid for 12 months.
You must schedule an appointment to submit electronic fingerprints to complete a background check. Fingerprints are required by the Florida Department of Financial Services to ensure that applicants do not have a disqualifying criminal or social services background that would prevent them from being a licensed insurance agent.
Resident candidates taking an insurance exam for the first time must be fingerprinted; however, if you have already submitted electronic fingerprints within the past 12 months for a previous insurance exam, you may not be required to submit a new set of fingerprints. You can contact the Florida Department of Financial Services to determine if a new set of fingerprints is required.
Electronic Fingerprints Fee: $45.80 plus local Florida county sales tax
If you have any background issues regarding law enforcement records that may prevent you from obtaining your insurance license, visit the Florida Department of Financial Services for more information.
Once you have passed your state insurance exam you can apply for your insurance license through the Florida Department of Financial Services website. Click the button below and follow the steps to complete your application:
For assistance in creating your account at the Department's website, or retrieving your username or password to sign into your account, this page provides a link to an interactive tutorial within the 'Need Assistance?' section.
Application Fee: $55.00
Members of the US Armed Forces, their spouses, and veterans who have retired within 24 months are exempted from the application filing fee for licenses. Those who meet this criteria will need to send a copy of the DD Form 214 to AgentLicensing@MyFloridaCFO.com and request a refund of the application filing fee.
Once your application has been approved you will receive an email from the Florida Department of Financial Services. You will be able to view and print your Florida insurance license from your MyProfile account.